Tuesday, February 9, 2010

18 and + BLOG


andrea thiel



Andrea Thiel - National Level Champion Bodybuilder

Where and when were you born?
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
January 10th, 1972

Favorite color- Pink
Favorite food – Any milk shakes or soft serve frozen yogurt…I love Peanut Butter and Raspberry frozen yogurt mixed together!!!

What is your profession?
My husband and I own a personal training business. In addition to one-on-one personal training, we offer on-line training programs for the more advanced athlete and pre-contest preparation programs for bodybuilders and fitness/figure competitors.
I am currently a Certified Personal Trainer by the following organizations: National Exercise Sports Trainers Association (NESTA); National Academy of Sports Medicine (NASM); and International Sports Science Association (ISSA). I also have my BA in Management Communications and two minors, one in Police Science and the other in Management Development.

Was it a goal for you to compete in bodybuilding competitions right from the beginning or was it something that grew in your mind as time went on and you saw the progress in your body?
Initially, no, I did not envision myself competing. I just enjoyed working out. It all changed though when I saw a picture of Lenda Murray and I immediately knew that I wanted to look like her and eventually compete!

Can you give me your competition history?
1995 – Lightweight (114 lbs.) NPC Wisconsin State
1996 – Middleweight (132 lbs)=2 0NPC Wisconsin State
1996 - Middleweight (132 lbs) NPC Northern States
1996 - Middleweight (132 lbs) NPC Nationals
2008 – Heavyweight (155 lbs) NPC Badger State
2008 – Heavyweight (156 lbs) NPC Nationals

Please tell me something about your training routine (i.e.: how many days per week / training split /cardio, etc.)
My husband and I do a 5-day a week modified Russian training split. Volume and intensity parameters are cycled week by week. Variations of compound movements are used in accordance with intensity parameters. I don’t do any cardio throughout the off season. During pre-contest I start with 1 hour in the morning and mid-way through the diet I include an hour in the evening as well.

What is your favorite exercise in the gym and which one you don’t like so much?
I love squatting and deadlifting – I hate doing my abs and calves!

Which body part is your best in your opinion?
I don’t really think I have a “best” body part; I think I’m pretty well-balanced. I’m very thankful that I was blessed with small hips and wide clavicles!

If you don’t mind would you give me some stats (best lifts and some body measurements)?
Squat – 455 for 3
Deadlift – 405 for 6
Bench – 265 for 6
Overhead Press: 245 for 3

I’m 5’3
Off – season weight – 185 lbs, but I’m trying to gain weight!
Pre-contest weight – 156 lbs, I would like to compete at my next show around 165 lbs.
Quads – 25
Biceps – 16
Chest – 45
Shoulder girdle - 51

What do you enjoy about training for competition....what do you enjoy about the 'off season'?
I do enjoy getting leaner and all of my clothes not fitting so tight. I don’t have to worry as much about trying clothes on when I’m shopping and accidentally ripping them! I do drive my husband crazy when I’m dieting because I’m constantly asking him “am I getting small?”
As far as the off-season goes, I just love the fact that I don’t have to do any cardio!

Please tell me about what you do when you don’t work out (hobbies, what do you do to relax?, etc.)
My current schedule keeps me pretty busy, but in regards to my free time, I like to spend most of it w/ my husband and animals!

Thank you to (the kind and supportive) Andy from AMG-Lite for this opportunity to share my story and for all that he does to promote female bodybuilding!

Contact e-mail: Andiethiel@gmail.com
Website address: www.Andreathiel.com (my personal website will launch in April.)

Violet Schwarz



Geraldine Morgan



Tammy Jones

Tammy Jones - NPC National Level Bodybuilder

Ft. Myers, Florida
21 March 1979

Licensed Sports Nutritionist, Body Pump/ Schwinn Cycling Coach, Body Pump Instructor, GGX, Fitness Director for 2 Gold’s Gym locations, Personal Trainer, Model/performer on Herbicepscam.com

LIFETIME ACTIVITES AND SPORTS: Dance (ballet, tap, hip-hop), horseback riding, running, power lifting, wrestling, boxing, martial arts (to include Jujitsu, Karate, Tae Kwon Do)

STARTED LIFTING: Nine years ago, right after the birth of my daughter. I have always liked a good challenge, and I have always been very competitive so yes, I knew once I got my body looking right I would compete at the National Level.

I have lifted weights since the age of 14. (Of course I didn't know what the hell I was doing, and even now I am sometimes clueless!) I started training in the gym at 14 knowing I was going into the military as soon as I was old enough (17). I joined at 17 and stayed in until age 22.

FIRST COMPETIITON: Gulf Coast (level 3) I took the overall (of course I was the only female bodybuilder in the whole show!) I have rearranged my though process on this whole sport. I am devoting more time and energy now than in the beginning. I am now taking this to the next level through education of the human body. I play with my diet and supps constantly to see how it responds during the year.

I started my degree in the Army and I am now pursuing it. I am earning my bachelor degree in business, with about a year to go!

NPC NATIONALS 2006 – Miami Beach, Fla.- 13th PLACE Heavyweights
NPC NATIONALS 2007- Dallas, Texas- 12th PLACE Heavyweights
NPC FLA. STATE 2008- 1st PLACE and OVERALL- Heavyweights
IFBB NORTH AMERICAN 2008- Cleveland, Ohio- 4th place- Heavyweights
NPC NATIONALS 2008- Atlanta, Ga.- 7th PLACE Heavyweights
IFBB NORTH AMERICAN 2009 - 13th PLACE Heavyweights

I train 5-6 DAYS A WEEK. I take days off as I need them and train 1 muscle group a day. I train hard and intense and then I get out! I practice a variety of techniques and routines for the ultimate muscle confusion.

MAIN DIFFERENCES IN/OFF SEASON TRAINING: Would definitely be cardio, cardio, cardio. I also do a lot more of what I call the "frilly" "sissy" exercises for shaping when it comes time to compete. I don't ever train light so that doesn't change. The intensity/reps do get cranked up the last 4 weeks or so for sure. I try to stick with my basic compound movements but throw in lots of drop sets to exhaustion, and burnout sets. I also try to focus on negatives during my depletion stage. I am constantly learning about my body so each year has been different. I find ways to trick and manipulate the muscles and stimulate response through varying training intensities, contractions, loads, and angles. But then again, that is the sport of bodybuilding!


BEST LIFTS: Free Bench Press-- 225lbs for 8 reps, Dumbell Press--
90lbs, Dumbell Curls-- 60 for reps, Barbell curls—110lbs, Leg Press -- 1100lbs for reps, Squat-- 335 for 4-6 reps, Single DB row--100lbs, Standing calf raises--
1000lbs for reps

YEAH, it’s all TRUE! And my video clips are proof!

BEST BODY PART: I think I am just all around balanced and complete. Nothing is overpowering, everything blends. My calves and shoulders are pretty large though.

FAVORITE EXERCISE: Don’t have one anymore- every exercise is my favorite!

LEAST FAVORITE EXERCISE: If I had to choose one it would have to be Stiff Legged- Dead Lifts

No comment.

HOBBIES: Golf, knitting, horseback riding, bidding at auctions, and diving for sea shells
NO JUST KIDDING! I really enjoy most of all spending time with my daughter (is that a hobby?) shopping, reading/studying/research, journaling, mixing music, yard work, photography


Shawna Walker